Obama bad for classical music?

No, assuming that Leon Wieseltier is an outlier:

I woke up the next morning still under the spell of solidarity and love. I decided to make the spell last. I gave away my tickets to a performance of some late Shostakovich quartets, because for once I was not interested in the despair. Instead I spent the day listening to the Ebonys and the Chi-Lites and the Isley Brothers.

Couldn’t he have given his tickets to someone on the Right who had spent the past few months moaning about how Obama was going to be the reincarnation of Stalin? They might have really enjoyed hearing some gloomy music about totalitarianism.

For my part, I’m glad that we will have a president who can credibly narrate Copland’s Lincoln Portrait (and apparently has done so with the Chicago Symphony). I could imagine Obama coming close to the classic performance by Adlai Stevenson (also a presidential candidate from Illinois) and Philly under Ormandy. Not the reason I voted for him, of course – but a nice bonus.

Leave a Reply

